Infertility · Ivf · lifestyle · Pregnancy loss

Have you got a friend who is having fertility issues?

Most of my friends and family have decided that, because they don’t actually see the physical side of infertility effecting me anymore (what they mean is now IVF is over) that i am ‘over’ it and that it’s in the past.

Because they don’t see my crying in the shower, or zooming past the pregnancy announcements on social media at break neck speed, that of course, i am totally okay now, and some seem to have started telling me how tough they found it supporting me!

A lot have said, i didn’t really ask how you were because i didn’t no how to, or have said that they avoided the topic at all costs with me, to avoid any awkwardness, i can totally appreciate that it must be so hard supporting someone with fertility issues, but these are people i confided in, who were there for me and who i felt like i couldn’t have got through it without them, and to hear them say that now, i feel more like a burden, because for me it isn’t just in the past and forgotten about, fertility issues are on going, my baby has still gone, and i still am not a Mother!

img_0326

 

It’s hard to be mad at them, because they aren’t trying to hurt me, most of the time it goes over my head, but sometimes, on the down days its hard when someone says something like this!

The trouble is, there isn’t a guide to how to support someone through infertility, even if there was, everyone is different, and what works for one person won’t work for another.

I think what is important to know as someone who is the supporter, is that the pain isn’t always visible, loss will always be there, the heartache of fertility rarely goes away, we just learn to cope, and please be gentle with us, we don’t expect you to tip toe around it forever but please understand that we don’t always expect you to understand, just be there, like we would be for you.

I am hoping to set up a forum for people who are supporting others through fertility issues, i feel like it might be helpful and i know some of my friends and family would be grateful for it!

Let me know what you think!!!

Until next time..

bye bye

9 thoughts on “Have you got a friend who is having fertility issues?

  1. This hits the nail on the head so to speak! I’ve had lots of feedback over the years along the lines of ‘I didn’t know what to say’. A simple how are you can be enough. The pain will never leave and it does change who you are & who you thought you would be. I love that you have a focus to help others & that encourages me to pursue my new focus, which is also helping others along this difficult path. I cry in the shower too…it’s my safe place! Thinking of you xx

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I couldn’t agree more either – you took the words right out of my mouth, my friends don’t ask any more and it’s not spoken about… they don’t see the times i cry or when i look for baby clothes for my friends twins, the amount of pain i feel all the same with being happy for her… it’s all so tricky. I also love that you are speaking out and helping others!! I’d be open to anything you want to start up as you are making a difference! xx

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much for commenting! I’m glad people are gaining something from my posts! I’m so keen on doing a forum! It’s daunting though! What if people don’t use it! I have a fear of failure now! 😑

      Like

Leave a comment